AI automation agencies charge in three ways: a fixed fee for each build, a monthly fee for support or a retainer, and an hourly or daily rate for discovery work. Published prices for a defined automation build start at about $8,000, and one firm prices a single-workflow automation at $18,000 to $35,000 and a multi-workflow platform at $40,000 to $90,000. Monthly support runs from about $340 to $8,000 at published rates. Brand Media Works builds AI workflow automation for ecommerce brands; the figures below are what other firms publish about their own work.

What do AI automation agencies charge?

The table sets out the firms in the Brand Media Works competitor register that publish prices for automation work, with firms that work with ecommerce and retail brands listed first. Each firm is described by the kind of work it does.

Published prices for AI automation work from 7 firms, as recorded in the Brand Media Works competitor register on 18 October 2026. Firms that work with ecommerce and retail brands are listed first. Brand Media Works does not publish its own fees.
Type of firmEntry stepBuildMonthly support
AI automation firm with an ecommerce practiceCurrent-state assessment: $999
Readiness and governance sprint: from $7,500
Defined automation build: from $8,000Managed care: from $1,500 a month. No per-seat, per-user or platform fees
AI automation and agent development firm with a retail practiceNot statedSingle-workflow automation: $18,000 to $35,000
Multi-workflow platform: $40,000 to $90,000
Source code included, with no per-use fees after launch
Not stated on its service page
UK AI and automation consultancyOptional assessment: £5,000 (about $6,700)From £10,000 (about $13,400)From £250 a month (about $340)
Marketing agency with an AI automation practiceNot statedAI agent implementation: $15,000 to $45,000Optimization and monitoring: $3,000 to $8,000 a month
Retainers from $5,700 a month plus $4,000 setup, priced at a $190 an hour blended rate
AI strategy and implementation consultancyAssessment: $7K to $35KSimple integrations, such as API and Zapier automations: $10K to $30K
Pilot: $10K to $40K
Retainers: $2,000 to $50,000 a month
Dutch AI consultancy and software firmAI audit and strategy: EUR 2,500Proof of concept: EUR 20,000
Production launch: from EUR 50,000
Not stated
AI consultancy for small businessesReadiness assessment: $2,500 to $8,000Pilot: $10,000 to $25,000
Full done-for-you build: $25,000 to $60,000
Not stated

Read across the rows and a pattern appears. A paid assessment or audit usually comes first. Most published first builds on one workflow land between about $8,000 and $45,000, depending on the firm and the scope. Monthly support is quoted separately from the build. Check the terms: one marketing agency's retainers become month-to-month only after an initial three-month onboarding period.

Should a brand pay per workflow or per month?

Pay per workflow for the build and per month only for what keeps it running. A fixed fee per build ties the price to a defined result: one workflow, a set of systems, an agreed test. A monthly fee should then cover named work, such as monitoring, fixes when an upstream tool changes, prompt updates and handling exceptions.

A retainer with no defined scope is where costs drift. Ask what the monthly fee includes, how many hours it buys, and whether unused hours carry over. One development firm estimates that ongoing costs add 15% to 25% of the build cost each year, which is a useful check on any monthly quote: a $30,000 build would carry $4,500 to $7,500 a year in upkeep on that estimate (our arithmetic). Tool subscriptions, such as Zapier, Make or n8n plans and model API usage, are usually billed to the brand directly and sit on top of both.

What makes an automation cost more?

Four things move the price of a workflow:

  • The number of steps. A short, high-volume task such as copying order data between tools is cheap to automate. A long process with many hand-offs is not.
  • The number of systems. Each extra tool, such as Shopify, Klaviyo, a support desk or an ERP, adds an integration to build and maintain.
  • The quality of the data. An automation can only act on data it can trust. If order, customer and ad data disagree, cleaning that up comes first.
  • The exceptions. A process that needs human-level judgment on edge cases, such as refunds, fraud flags or out-of-stock substitutions, costs more to automate safely.

Timelines follow the same pattern. One firm puts a single-workflow automation at six to eight weeks to go live, with a proof of concept by week three, and a multi-workflow platform at ten to sixteen weeks. Another puts discovery at two to three weeks, then eight to twelve weeks to ship a single workflow.

What should an ecommerce brand ask before signing?

  • What exactly is the build price for? One named workflow, the systems it connects and the test it has to pass.
  • Who owns the result? The workflows, code and prompts should belong to the brand, with no per-use fees to the agency after launch.
  • What does the monthly fee cover? Named tasks and hours, not a general retainer.
  • What are the exit terms? Month-to-month support, and a documented handover if the brand moves the work in-house.
  • Which tool and model costs sit outside the quote? Ask for an estimate of the monthly subscriptions and API usage the automation will run on.

For most ecommerce brands, the best first workflow is one that repeats every day and touches two or three systems, such as tagging and routing support tickets, enriching new product listings, or building a weekly performance report. AI workflow automation sets out how Brand Media Works scopes this work. If the data behind the workflow needs fixing first, see how much marketing data engineering costs, and for published prices across every kind of AI consulting work, see AI consultant cost in 2026.

Book a discovery call

Frequently asked questions

How much does an AI automation agency charge per workflow?

Published prices for a first build run from about $8,000 for a defined automation to $18,000 to $35,000 for a single-workflow automation at one firm. Multi-workflow platforms are priced at $40,000 to $90,000 by the same firm.

How much is a monthly AI automation retainer?

Published support fees start at about $340 a month for monitoring and fixes at one UK consultancy and run to $3,000 to $8,000 a month for optimization and monitoring at a marketing agency. Broader retainers are published at $2,000 to $50,000 a month, depending on hours and seniority.

Do we own the automations an agency builds?

You should. Ask for the workflows, code and prompts to be the brand's property in the contract, with no per-use fees after launch, so the work can move in-house or to another partner.

Figures from the Brand Media Works competitor register: 727 pages from 162 firms, collected October 2026. Prices as published by each firm on the date shown. Brand Media Works does not publish its own fees.