Agentic checkout means an AI assistant helps a shopper find a product and, on some channels, completes the purchase inside the chat. For a Shopify brand it is already switched on: Shopify's agentic storefronts list eligible products in ChatGPT, Google AI Mode and Gemini, Microsoft Copilot and Meta by default. The decisions that matter are which channels take payment inside the chat, how those orders are tracked, and what customer data the channel receives. This guide uses Shopify's, OpenAI's and Stripe's own pages, read between 25 and 26 October 2026, and is from Brand Media Works, an AI consulting and marketing data engineering firm for ecommerce brands.

How does each AI channel sell a Shopify brand's products?

How AI channels list and sell products from Shopify stores, from Shopify's help pages read 25 and 26 October 2026.
AI channelWhere product data comes fromWhere the shopper paysShoppers it serves
ChatGPTShopify CatalogThe brand's own online store checkout, in ChatGPT's in-app browser or a new tabStores must sell to customers in the United States
Google AI Mode and GeminiGoogle Merchant Center, through the Google & YouTube channel or a feedShopify-powered direct checkout in the chat, on by default; can be switched to redirect to the storeCustomers in the United States, Canada and Australia; rolling out gradually
Microsoft CopilotShopify CatalogDirect checkout in Copilot, which requires Shopify Catalog accessNot stated in the pages read
Meta, such as MuseThe Facebook and Instagram by Meta sales channelDirect checkout in the channel when activatedNot stated in the pages read

ChatGPT works differently because OpenAI changed course. It launched Instant Checkout in September 2025, built on the Agentic Commerce Protocol with Stripe, with merchants paying "a small fee on completed purchases". In March 2026 OpenAI said the first version "did not offer the level of flexibility that we aspire to provide", and that it was letting merchants use their own checkout while it focused on product discovery. Shopify now describes ChatGPT as "a discovery-focused referrer platform".

Google's direct checkout for Shopify merchants is powered by the Universal Commerce Protocol, an open standard Google and Shopify announced in January 2026. A brand that does not use Shopify for its online store can still list products through Shopify's Agentic plan, which has no monthly fee and card rates from 2.9% + 30¢ online.

What changes for the brand's data and reporting?

Direct checkout moves the last step of the purchase off the brand's website, and three things change with it.

  • Tracking. Shopify says Google Analytics and custom pixels "won't fire" in Google AI Mode and Gemini's direct checkout; it "fires only server-to-server pixels (started, completed)". A brand that measures marketing through browser pixels will see these orders in Shopify with channel attribution but not in its usual analytics.
  • Customer data. When an order is placed in a channel with direct checkout, the channel "has access to order details such as the customer's name, email address, phone number, and physical address". Shopify says AI channels do not get the full order history or the customer database.
  • Checkout features. Subscriptions, product bundles, customizable products, local delivery and pickup are not supported in Google's direct checkout, and checkout blocks for loyalty or for collecting consent to data use and communications may not display. Discount codes and automatic discounts do work.

The fix for reporting sits in the data layer, not the AI channel: AI-channel orders need to land in the warehouse from Shopify's order records and server-side events, labeled by channel, so they can be counted next to paid and organic sales. Marketing data engineering covers how Brand Media Works builds that, and what a marketing data warehouse is explains the model it feeds.

What should a Shopify brand do now?

  • Check the Agentic settings. Under Sales channels > Agentic, the default "Allow Shopify to manage for me" opts the store in, turns on direct checkout where it applies and adds new AI channels automatically. Turning it off gives control channel by channel.
  • Decide on direct checkout for each channel. A brand that relies on subscriptions, bundles, loyalty sign-up or consent capture at checkout may prefer to redirect shoppers to its own store, at least until those features are supported.
  • Fix product data first. AI channels read titles, descriptions, images, prices and availability from Shopify Catalog or Merchant Center. Shopify asks merchants to put any legal disclosures in the first 6,000 characters of the product description, and offers Catalog Mapping for data kept in metafields.
  • Keep the Merchant Center feed synced. Google AI Mode and Gemini take product data from Google Merchant Center, and the store must meet Google's requirements there.
  • Set up server-side tracking for AI orders. Count orders by channel from Shopify's own records and server events before judging whether the channel works.
  • Know how to opt out. Turning off Shopify Catalog access for ChatGPT can take up to 7 days, and products may still appear through web crawling. Setting a product to Unlisted hides it from AI channels but also from search engines and site search.

Which marketing workflows to automate with AI first covers the rest of the AI work worth doing alongside this.

Is selling through AI chat worth it yet?

None of the vendor pages read for this guide publish what share of sales AI channels bring a typical brand, so the honest answer is to measure it. Stripe says fraud rates have been "near zero" since it launched its Agentic Commerce Suite with large retailers, and that it has seen brands "reformat the same product catalog in six different ways to get listed across multiple AI agents". Shopify's single catalog removes most of that work for its merchants. Because the channel costs no extra fee on Shopify, the cost of staying in is mainly the data work: clean product data, the right checkout settings and reporting that can see the orders.

Book a discovery call

Frequently asked questions

What are Shopify agentic storefronts?

Shopify's feature that lets customers discover and buy a store's products in AI channels such as ChatGPT, Google AI Mode and Gemini, Microsoft Copilot and Meta. It is active by default for eligible stores and is managed under Sales channels > Agentic.

Can shoppers buy a Shopify product without leaving ChatGPT?

Not through Shopify's direct checkout. Shopify says ChatGPT shoppers complete their purchase on the brand's online store checkout, shown in ChatGPT's in-app browser or a new tab, and there is no ChatGPT direct checkout setting.

Does Shopify charge a fee for agentic checkout?

No extra fee, according to Shopify's help pages for ChatGPT and for Google AI Mode and Gemini. The brand pays only its standard payment processing fees.

Do Google Analytics and Meta pixels track agentic checkout orders?

Not in Google AI Mode and Gemini's direct checkout. Shopify says Google Analytics and custom pixels do not fire there, and only server-to-server started and completed events are sent.

Can a brand not on Shopify sell in AI chats through Shopify?

Yes. Shopify's Agentic plan lists products from brands that do not use a Shopify online store, with no monthly fee and card rates from 2.9% + 30¢ online.